Rear Facing Till College 

No, I’m not trying to start a mom war in my comments section. I’m just telling you why I still have Alison rear facing. Before I had Alison I thought that as soon as a baby turned one they were supposed to be in a front facing car seat. It almost seemed like it was another milestone. When Ali was born I started doing some research and I saw that the AAP recommends keeping your child rear facing until the age of two. I also found extended rear facing was an option. After reading some of the very scary statistics I decided that I would keep Alison rear facing until she out grew her seat. To make sure she could be rear facing for longer I decided to get an extended rear facing car seat. We ended up buying the Graco 4Ever All-in-1 car seat.It is a little pricey but it has memory foam padding and multiple adjustments to make your baby comfortable. Honestly I wish I could sit in it. Ali is able to stay in that car seat until she is 40lbs or until she is 1inch below the top handle. She will most likely out grow it in height before she out grows it in weight because currently she weighs 26lbs but she’s in the 90th percentile for height. 
A lot of people don’t understand why I have her rear facing still. My answer to them is, look up “rear facing statistics” on google. Reading those articles was enough for me. People also don’t understand how she’s comfortable. I have never heard one complaint from Alison. We have been on multiple long road trips and she seems pretty comfortable. She either crosses her legs, puts them up on the seat or flops them over the side. Overall it really works for her.

I’m not trying to change anyone’s mind or bash what any other mom does. Really every mom is going to do what they think is best for their kid. This is just my personal experience with extended rear facing! 


The car seat we got for Ali and Rylie. 

http://www.gracobaby.com/products/pages/4ever-all-in-1-car-seat-kylie.aspx

My girls 💕

3 thoughts on “Rear Facing Till College 

  1. Shawna says:

    I can’t believe people would even question how she sits in the car. You’re the mom; you decide! And we love this car seat!
    Side note, she is only about 5 pounds heavier than Frankie!😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

