Helmet Hair And Mama Kinda Cares 

If you follow me on Instagram (@aligrace_and_ryliedrue) you probably saw that Rylie got her helmet. The appointment to get it went great. They had to make a few minor adjustments because her ears aren’t symmetrical but besides that everything went smoothly. As soon as the doctor put the helmet on, Alison said “Rylie you look beautiful” (yes she is the most amazing big sister ever). The first three days she wore it on and off for a few hours at a time. Now she is wearing it for 23 hours a day. I was so worried she wasn’t going to sleep well with it on but that hasn’t been a problem at all. The only problem so far which isn’t a huge deal is she gets heat rash when she wakes up. So Rylie really seems to be okay with it all but mama is having a little harder time with it. 

I honestly didn’t think it would upset me. I usually just go with the flow and not many things bother me. For whatever reason when we first got home I got a stomachache over the whole thing. I felt so bad that she had to wear this thing on her head and deal with discomfort. I started to second guess myself. I suddenly wasn’t so sure about the decision that I was feeling pretty confident making a week prior. If you know me you know I don’t cry (like not even at funerals) and for some reason I got teary eyed while I was nursing her. No mom wants their baby to have a something wrong with them no matter how minor it is. It makes me sad that I can’t kiss her soft little head. I hate that I can’t play with her hair. And I really don’t like that I can’t see her beautiful blue eyes and little red eyebrows as easy. There are quite a few negative things but it really will be all worth it in the end. I know that when she gets older she won’t have to be self conscious about the shape of her head. I know that if she needs to wear glasses her ears will be symmetrical and will be able to hold them up correctly. And I know that when she’s putting blush on for her senior prom her cheeks will both be the same size. For those reasons I know I made the right decision. I tell ya being a mom is an emotional roller coaster. There is no love greater than the love I have for my two little girls and JP of course. They make my world go round. 
Well that got a little more personal than I thought it would lol. If you have any questions about Plagiocephaly or Torticollis please feel free to ask in the comment section. 

6 thoughts on “Helmet Hair And Mama Kinda Cares 

  1. Christine Battaglia says:

    I can totally understand your rollercoaster emotions! Good moms never want to see their kids have any issues, major or minor. I admire your positive attitude; she’s going to be fine cuz she’s tough like her parents! (and stinking adorable)! You’re doing a great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. moonboots says:

    I’m right there with you! My little guy just got his starband helmet yesterday and today I totally burst into tears. I know it’s the right thing to do and that he will get used to it, but it just broke my heart looking at him wearing it. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

