I was born for this job

It’s the best, hardest, most fun experience I’ve ever had. I’ve always wanted to be a mom. I just didn’t realize how amazing the experience would truly be. I always knew I’d love my babies but that feeling when you’re holding your newborn for the very first time is like nothing else. I felt instant love. A love that is so different than any other kind of love. I felt that I needed to protect my babies with everything I had. I felt an instant responsibility to raise them to be great. 
I’m responsible for raising two little girls that need to be functional parts of society. I’m responsible for raising two future wives and future moms. The way I raise them now will determine how they handle situations in the future. I take this job very seriously. Of course they will both grow up to be their own people but it’s my responsibility as a parent to give them direction. That is stressful and so cool at the same time. 

I have to teach them to say please and thank you. I have to teach them to leave things better than they found it. I have to teach them how to control their frustration when things don’t go their way. If you have a toddler you know that those tasks alone can be exhausting. Then there’s my favorite part of being a mom. And that is showing them how to have fun! I tell them it’s okay to get messy. It’s ok to stomp in puddles even if you’re dressed up nice. It’s ok to pretend that a marker is lipstick (what kid doesn’t do that at least once). It’s ok to get your new shoes filthy. And occasionally it’s ok to skip nap to go get some ice cream and play at the park. There is so much work involved with being a parent but there is nothing more rewarding. One day I’ll get watch my girls graduate high school, graduate college, get married and have kids. I will know that the things I’ve instilled in them helped them accomplish those things. So I’ll put the work in today so I can see those things in the future and that’s why I love being a mom. 

Leave a comment